A Very Odd Website
My colleague, Ken, skyped me a URL this morning, then said, "I'll give you $20 if you can figure out what the site's about." The URL is: www.unifyer.com. His money, I fear, is safe.
The site (check it out if you have a moment) uses Flash gratuitously to convey -- well, that's the problem; I have no idea what it's trying to convey. I went to their FAQ, hoping to find a "What the hell is this site about?", but no luck.
Now, Ken happens to know what Unifyer is. I'm glad, because I don't think I could have figure it out without a guide. Is it software for...
[ ]A: Multi-level-marketing organizations?
[ ]B: Churches?
[ ]C: Chain letter email management?
[ ]D: Parent-Teacher organizations?
[ ]E: Synchronizing blog networks?
The answer is "B" -- it's software for helping churches manage their affairs.
Or maybe Ken's just having fun with me, because even after knowing the answer, I don't get it.


When I came back to your post and saw that it was for churches, I was surprised.
I'm with Hal, very confusing site. I can only hope they're paying attention to their referrers and see the confusion here and fix it. :)
Oh and the Lorem Ipsum text in the "culture" section, priceless :)
I also like the link in the support section to "get flash"; which requires flash to see the link :)
As for the logo - the flame in that style is very much a Christian symbol. It refers to the book of Acts 2:3 "And there appeared unto them cloven tongues like as of fire, and it sat upon each of them."
(If you don't have NoScript installed for Firefox, you need to get it.)
[meta name="Description" content="Unifyer is an online community and communication tool for churches, schools, associations and non-profit organizations."]
See? *Anyone* can figure out what this site is. Anyone who reads metadata instead of viewing the actual site.
So if you're a search engine, you have a very good idea of what this site is. If you're a human who's never viewed the source of a web page, you're out of luck.